Weighty Issue

 Apologies in advance for the blahness of this post- I’m tired and stressed out today.

If you read my List of 2007 you know I need to lose weight.  I want to lose weight for health reasons mostly.  I am at risk for a myriad of conditions and diseases.  I don’t want to die young.  I am 37 and have battled my weight for most of my life.  I am not going to let the fat win!  I am stronger than that!  And to be honest- being hot would be pretty cool.

So here are the stats:

dscn0715.JPG

Yup, 266.5 lbs.  Do you think my Nikon weighs 85 pounds?  Me either.  Ya ever say to yourself, “How the hell did that happen?”  The day I gave birth I weighed 243.  I have gained more than 20 pounds since.  My BMI is 38.2 which puts me in the “holy crap do something about this pretty damn quick before you die” category.  Seriously- grossly obese.  Grossly.Obese.  I never really think of myself this way.

I took this picture last night with the handy timer feature.  I debated about putting it up, but I figure- we’re all friends here (and if you aren’t a friend, piss off).

dscn0719.JPG

Was a bit shocked at how I filled the whole doorway.  (Sidenote:  I was going to do my hair, throw on some makeup and wear something nice.  I figured that would be all sorts of fake.  This is me after a long day.  Ain’t I cute?)  Periodically I will post other pictures.  I want to do them in the same clothes and in the same spot so I can see some progress.

Ok, I’m starting to get all boohoo.  Moving on.

I joined the Discovery Health Body Challenge.  They have some great tools:  fitness plans & tracker, tips, meal plans that you can customize, free eight week membership at Bally’s and a chance to win a million bucks.  I started a group there, Mama’s Friends.  If you want to join the group email me (icecreammama at gmail dot com).  I’ll send you an e-vite and we can encourage each other.

I’m also going to add another page to this site where I’ll post links to weight loss sites and other stuff I may come across.  I also want to put links up to the other bloggers who are on the weight loss road.  I know Angela is.  Go check her first Wednesday Weigh-in post.  She’s got some good stuff.

What are my goal?  100 pounds gone.  Wow.  Please stand by while Beth’s brain takes in the enormity of that figure!  Now, back to our regularly scheduled program.

100 pounds gone

Excersize at least three times a week

Eat properly

Not beat myself up if I don’t see dramatic results, not quit if I have one bad day, not eat from emotion and reward myself with a whole new wardrobe when I reach 166 pounds.

Now the question is- how am I going to do this?

9 Comments

Filed under Weight Loss

9 responses to “Weighty Issue

  1. Well…I’m right there with you.

    The “medical charts” say 100 lbs+ for me…(and honestly I haven’t gotten on a scale lately so I don’t know the exact figure) because I think they say to go to 160-something..and I won’t go below 180. I know this. My frame doesn’t do well below that…and quite frankly….I know at some point I’m going to plateau around there anyway.

    The idea of 80,90 or even 100lbs (God I hope I don’t weigh 280) just freightens the crap out of me.

    I’m hitting the gym for the first time tonight..and will use the gym scale as my measurement. I also want to take a picture in some clothes to gauge the difference.

    If we stick together WE can do this.

    I am officially starting tonight with the exercise, have tried to cut down on the crap eating but honestly will not hit this full force until Feb. 5th because I’m taking a trip 2 years in the making to Walt Disney World with my ENTIRE family at the end of the month…and it’s my only real vacation in 4 years so I’m going to enjoy the food while I’m there.

    I was thinking of a “Quote or tip a day” for those of us on our way to working it off.

    Reading everyone’s honesty about what we need to do and knowing that we’re all struggling with it…makes it somehow just a little easier.

    For that…I say thank you.

  2. I’m totally with you too. I was JUST thinking about The Discovery Health Challenge. Okay, actually I couldn’t remember the name of it. So I’m going to email you now. 🙂

  3. Weight Watchers. My boyfriend was seriously overweight and he got on the plan and within 8 months had dropped 80 pounds. You need to do what is best for YOU. You need to be at a weight comfortable for YOUR frame and lifestyle. Bottom line is: you CAN do it. You’ve taken the hardest step in this process by admitting you need to shed some pounds. I’ll be right here cheering you on every step of the way!! And, you do NOT look bad. You’re a Mom who out taking care of herself on the bottom of the list. Do not feel bad about that. You’re YOU because of what’s INSIDE, not how you appear to others. And, if ANYONE makes you feel bad about yourself for ANY reason, screw ’em!! Good Luck…you’ll do awesome!

  4. themiddlemanager

    Absolutely you can do it. There are many people on the blogosphere who will jump into the trenches right along with you, and it sounds like the Brown Eyed Girl and That Chick Over There above are great examples!

    Good luck to you all, and I look forward to following your progress!

  5. Holy cow, you look like me! Well, my hair is short and red, but you get the idea.

    Email me the the Discovery thing. I’ll check it out. I don’t need Bally’s (we have a YMCA membership) but the rest sounds neat.

    I say we will find a way to go shopping TOGETHER when we meet our goal – 166/ 167 is mine too. Not sure where you live though….but I know where Brown Eyed Girl lives – we could all meet near her too! Hmm..guess I’d have to win the lottery too, to afford new clothes and airfare.

    Beth, WE CAN DO THIS, We CAN! Our life long battle will be over this year. We’re the same height, near the same weight (224) and near the same age (35). We were meant to do this together!

  6. You can do it, you just have to be honest and true to yourself. Don’t withhold all foods that you like but are not good for you. If you don’t allow yourself a little bit, you will want to rebel and you will end up back where you started. Also, don’t expect immediate results. In our fast paced society, we want what we want NOW and with losing weight it doesn’t work that way. Know that plenty of people are supporting you. Good luck!

  7. I know you can do it. I am here for you. If you need any tips, I have some although I am definitely not an expert.

  8. I wanted to come check out your blog.
    I can’t believe you put the scale on your site. That is so brave. You’ll loose weight if you do that every Sunday….. I guess…. But I am not going to try it. I have to get some weight off too. So I’ll come back and check up on your progress. We’ll have to get those tips out of Amy W. : )

  9. You can definitely do it. Once you set your mind to something and really believe it, it’s amazing what you can accomplish. Getting a buddy to push you can also help tremendously. Though it sounds like you got a lot of buddies here online already!

Leave a Reply

