While There Was No Pants Pissing…

While there was no pants pissing, there was still a great reaction to the iPod!  We gave it to her Sunday.  (Her birthday was really Thursday, but the Big Guy works nights and she goes to her mother’s on Saturdays)  The look on her face was awesome!  She totally wasn’t expecting it.  If BG didn’t get an unexpected post Christmas bonus, she wouldn’t have gotten it.  Cause we’re cheap.  And broke.  But mostly cheap.  Anyway, she was thrilled.

Complete change of subject with no transition whatsoever ahead. 

Our pastor has issued a challenge.  I like a challenge and this one should be fun.  Pastor was talking about how people get married and forget the fun and romance of dating.  With Valentine’s Day coming up, he challenged us to “rock the socks” of our mate.  Yes, my pastor used the term “rock the socks”.  I like him.  The Big Guy and I have decided to take that challenge.  Since BG works nights our Valentine’s Day will be Feb. 18.  (Pastor still wants us to do something on the 14th to at least acknowledge the day.) 

The idea is to be creative and not spend a boatload of money.  I figure for the actual day I will pack his lunch with heart stuff  (heart shaped sandwiches, cookies, etc) and a card.  I’d like to think of something else for the day.

Here is where you come in.  I need your ideas.  Keep ’em clean- I already know what he likes in that area.  I want to show him how much I love him.  I don’t do that nearly enough.  I’m usually caught up with what needs to be done (laundry) and what to make for dinner (sausage and bowties).  He really is the love of my life and I want to make this day special.   

A couple things to keep in mind:

We are on a budget.

I am allergic to flowers.

What rocks your socks?  What rocks your husband’s socks?

14 Comments

Filed under Big Guy, Little Help From My Friends, Sis

14 responses to “While There Was No Pants Pissing…

  1. Love your pastor! Krispy Kreme donuts are the way to my hubby’s heart. That and giving him a little extra sleeping in time on the weekend. Hey, we lead a simple life!

  2. Hey that’s really cool. I need a bit to think of ideas, and I can’t wait to come back and see what others come up with. (How very original of me.)

  3. You already pack his lunch.. cards are nice, but little love notes are even better. Just a couple of hand written thoughts from the heart. Fold it up, hide it in there.. it becomes harder after the first couple because he starts to expect them..

    And I suggest you put them in there every day starting on Monday the12th to the 18th when you celebrate together. On the days he’s not working you’ll just have to be more inventive about where you put them.

  4. I think a good old fashioned hand written love letter would be nice.. or if thats not an ideal idea .. what about including a list of all the reasons you love him.. You could title it 100 reasons (but there are so many more) why I love you.. and put all the things that matter to you on it.. from the silly to the romantic.. a special memory to whatever he has helped you deal with..and perhaps you could it end with because you are the love of my life… something like that. When mine had prostate cancer in 2002 , I created a huge scrapbook type thing with all kinds of positive quotes and funny stories .. and I gave him a card every single day up until he was recovered .. from the time of his diagnosis to the recovery after surgery he had a card or two every day.. When he travels I stick a note in his ditty bag or travel bag. I do it from time to time so it is special now.. and I occasionally leave a card on the pillow.. sometimes I make the cards .. sometimes I buy them. One valentines day I covered our glass dining room table in sparkely heart shape confetti red hot hearts… and those candy hearts for valentines day with the messages on them..and chocolate kisses and the Hersheys Hugs too ( HUGS AND KISSES) he made that stay on that table for about 2 months lol. .it was funny..This year since I am making some big changes I am going to cook dinner at home for us. Usually we go to a wonderful little Italian restaurant…. but for now that is on the back burner. Hope all else is well.. glad you guys had a hit with the IPOD.. they are great..
    Have a great evening!

  5. Does he know about your blog? Because taking a picture of yourself, holding an “I love you” sign (it can be in front of your face too so no one sees you!) is good…

    Mine likes cooking– so a special meal would be good and sending the little ones out for a bit if you could…

    Maybe make him brownies and then hide them in your bedroom closet just for him?

    Buy yourself something that HE would like?

    Do somehting he’s been asking you to do and take it one step up?

    Hmmm.

  6. Oh! Print out a nice picture of the two of you and buy a nice frame? maybe?

  7. I like your pastor, too!! I’m lame and have no ideas. I may be back with some good ones….but, maybe not. Don’t hate me ’cause I’m lame 🙂

  8. This is what I have done in the past –

    I put notes and cards all over the place but in places where I am sure he will come across them. In his jacket pocket, on the drive’s seat for the next morning, in his lunch, in the pockets of the pants he will wear to work the next day, in the fold of a clean towel laid out for his morning shower, etc. I have even mailed cards and letters to him at work. It never failed to surprise him and he never knows when I will do it.

  9. I was totally going to say leave notes in his pockets, but I am just copying Angie now!

    I am no good at good ideas, I fully expect to steal some ideas from here.

  10. That’s a cool idea! Ok, if hubby works nights, is he asleep when you leave for work? If so, leave him a sweet note on your pillow, just telling him your thinking of him and love him.

  11. If your BG is anything like my DH, then he would loooovvve a FOOT MASSAGE! Since I do it myself, it’s CHEAP! So, my vote: get out the lotion or massage oil and rub his feet and calves for 30 minutes – something tells me he will love the idea 😉

  12. Um…bj’s.

    God. I’m so crass. I’m sorry.

  13. Whoa. That was crass! But she might be onto something. Sorry, now *I* just dipped into the crass pool.

    Have a great week, whatever you guys do!

  14. Pingback: More From The House Romance Built « Ice Cream Mama

Leave a Reply

