The Book Meme

I love to read so when I saw this meme (on a whole bunch of sites) I thought I would give it a go. 

Look at the list of books below.
*Bold the ones you’ve read
*Italicize the ones you want to read
*leave blank the ones that you aren’t interested in.

1.The Da Vinci Code (Dan Brown)
2.Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen)
3.To Kill A Mockingbird (Harper Lee)
4. Gone With The Wind (Margaret Mitchell)
5. The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King (Tolkien)
6. The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring (Tolkien)
7. The Lord of the Rings: Two Towers (Tolkien)
8. Anne of Green Gables (L.M. Montgomery)
9. Outlander (Diana Gabaldon)
10.A Fine Balance (Rohinton Mistry)
11.Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Rowling)
12.Angels and Demons (Dan Brown)
13.Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Rowling)
14. A Prayer for Owen Meany (John Irving)
15. Memoirs of a Geisha (Arthur Golden)
16.Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Rowling)
17. Fall on Your Knees(Ann-Marie MacDonald)
18. The Stand (Stephen King)
19. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban(Rowling)
20. Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte)
21. The Hobbit (Tolkien)
22. The Catcher in the Rye (J.D. Salinger)
23. Little Women (Louisa May Alcott)
24. The Lovely Bones (Alice Sebold)
25. Life of Pi (Yann Martel)
26. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Douglas Adams)
27. Wuthering Heights (Emily Bronte)
28. The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe (C. S. Lewis)
29. East of Eden (John Steinbeck)
30. Tuesdays with Morrie(Mitch Albom)
31. Dune (Frank Herbert)
32. The Notebook (Nicholas Sparks)
33. Atlas Shrugged (Ayn Rand)
34. 1984 (Orwell)
35. The Mists of Avalon (Marion Zimmer Bradley)
36. The Pillars of the Earth (Ken Follett)
37. The Power of One (Bryce Courtenay)
38. I Know This Much is True(Wally Lamb)
39. The Red Tent (Anita Diamant)
40. The Alchemist (Paulo Coelho)
41. The Clan of the Cave Bear (Jean M. Auel)
42. The Kite Runner (Khaled Hosseini)
43. Confessions of a Shopaholic (Sophie Kinsella)
44. The Five People You Meet In Heaven (Mitch Albom)
45. Bible
46. Anna Karenina (Tolstoy)
47. The Count of Monte Cristo (Alexandre Dumas)
48. Angela’s Ashes (Frank McCourt)
49. The Grapes of Wrath (John Steinbeck)
50. She’s Come Undone (Wally Lamb)
51. The Poisonwood Bible (Barbara Kingsolver)
52. A Tale of Two Cities (Dickens)
53. Ender’s Game (Orson Scott Card)
54. Great Expectations (Dickens)
55. The Great Gatsby (Fitzgerald)
56. The Stone Angel (Margaret Laurence)
57. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Rowling)
58. The Thorn Birds (Colleen McCullough)
59. The Handmaid’s Tale (Margaret Atwood)
60. The Time Traveller’s Wife (Audrew Niffenegger)
61. Crime and Punishment (Fyodor Dostoyevsky)
62. The Fountainhead (Ayn Rand)
63. War and Peace (Tolsoy)
64. Interview With The Vampire (Anne Rice)
65. Fifth Business (Robertson Davis)
66. One Hundred Years Of Solitude (Gabriel Garcia Marquez)
67. The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants (Ann Brashares)
68. Catch-22 (Joseph Heller)
69. Les Miserables (Hugo)
70. The Little Prince (Antoine de Saint-Exupery)
71. Bridget Jones’ Diary (Fielding)
72. Love in the Time of Cholera (Marquez)
73. Shogun (James Clavell)
74. The English Patient (Michael Ondaatje)
75. The Secret Garden (Frances Hodgson Burnett)
76. The Summer Tree (Guy Gavriel Kay)
77. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn (Betty Smith)
78. The World According To Garp (John Irving)
79. The Diviners (Margaret Laurence)
80. Charlotte’s Web (E.B. White)
81. Not Wanted On The Voyage (Timothy Findley)
82. Of Mice And Men (Steinbeck)
83. Rebecca (Daphne DuMaurier)
84. Wizard’s First Rule (Terry Goodkind)
85. Emma (Jane Austen)
86. Watership Down(Richard Adams)
87. Brave New World (Aldous Huxley)

88. The Stone Diaries (Carol Shields)
89. Blindness (Jose Saramago)
90. Kane and Abel (Jeffrey Archer)
91. In The Skin Of A Lion (Ondaatje)
92. Lord of the Flies (Golding)
93. The Good Earth(Pearl S. Buck)
94. The Secret Life of Bees (Sue Monk Kidd)
95. The Bourne Identity (Robert Ludlum)
96. The Outsiders (S.E. Hinton)
97. White Oleander (Janet Fitch)
98. A Woman of Substance (Barbara Taylor Bradford)
99. The Celestine Prophecy (James Redfield)
100.Ulysses (James Joyce)

Huh, only forty.  I really thought there would be more.  I didn’t italicize many because, frankly, I’ve never heard of many of these books.  We go to the library every two weeks.  I take out eight or ten books each visit.  Yeah I know that’s alot of books.  I read fast.  I would also rather read than watch tv or do laundry.  I get anxious when I don’t have a book or two waiting for me.  Because I do read so much I’m always looking for new (or new to me) authors.  I’ll have to add the other sixty to my list.

What’s the last thing you’ve read?  What do you recommend for my reading list?

17 Comments

Filed under Mama, MeMe

17 responses to “The Book Meme

  1. Wow, there are a lot of great books on the list. I highly recommend Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. It kicks some serious butt.

  2. The last thing I read was Occupational Health and Safety- A review.

    Exciting!

  3. Nikki is right. Diana Gabaldon is the bomb. I have my library list in Excel (shut up, you knew I had to) so if you email me, I’ll send it to you for a peak of some EXCELLENT authors.

  4. I’m not going to do this. I saw it at (Never That Easy) I think..and well I love to read but haven’t read many of the classics 0r other things people often get all charged up about. If something is all over the media and I feel like it’s being SHOVED down my throat..I usually rebel against it.

    (Hence the reason I didn’t start watching Grey’s Anatomy til season 3 even though ORIGINALLY I wanted to watch it.- ok never mind)

    The last 3 things I read was:

    For One More Day by Mitch Albom it was given to me by my sister

    Dear John by Nicholas Sparks (I’ve read everything he’s put out)

    Little Children by Tom Perotta

    Currently I’m reading 2 books

    3 Weeks with My Brother By Nicholas Sparks I’m having a hard time getting through this because it’s non-fiction and not as exciting as something with a plot

    and My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

  5. Have you ever read any of Jodi Piccoult’s books? I really enjoy all of hers.

  6. Can you count the movies that were made from these books? Because that would increase my read number by a factor of 10.

  7. I’m impressed …I can’t even remember what I read yesterday..let alone make a list of all the books I’ve read!

  8. Ooh, this is awesome. I love to read. I do a thing every couple weeks on my blog where I talk about everything currently on my shelf.
    I also recommend Jodi Piccoult as well as Alice Sebold – she’s very heavy but really really good. A good fantasy author that I really love is Mercedes Lackey. She’s fabulous.
    Anyway, I could write forever about books so I’ll let you go and see how many I’ve read from the list. 🙂

  9. Oh, I so have to steal this. I own a lot of the books but I have never read some of them. If you enjoyed the Sophie Kinsella one, I would highly recommend Marion Keyes.

  10. Hmm, currently reading “In Cold Blood” by Capote. It’s going a little slowly though, can’t seem to concentrate lately.

    Tried “The Dante Club,” but gave up on that… dreadful.

    Listened to the audio of “The Crazy Ladies of Pearl Street” by Trevanian. Wonderful book. And before that, another biography, Sydney Sheldon’s autobio. Also very good.

  11. I would really recommend The Kite Runner, a brilliant book that everyone should read at least once.

  12. I’m snatching this meme…it reminded me of many books I need to add to my reading list.

    I’d definitely recommend anything by Terry Pratchett. Fabulously funny and incredibly thought provoking at the same time.

  13. This is so good! I love to read too . . .I’ll have to do this meme.

  14. Pingback: Sidetrack’d » Blog Archive » It’s all about the books

  15. You should read Shopaholic and Baby. Hilarious. Also Mariane Keyes is really good. Sue Monk Kidd is also good. She wrote The Mermaid Chair and Keeper of the Bees. Excellent.

  16. The Poisonwood Bible is great–well, very interesting just upset me. The Secret Life of Bees is different but very interesting. I am a big Amy Tan fan — I just think that woman can tell a story and love Joanne Harris (Chocolat). Oh, I’m party hopping so thought I’d stop by and check you out. I felt at home with the ice cream header.

  17. Oh, I’ve read 62 books on that list.

    I have way too much time on my hands!!!

    (Or so my husband keeps telling me.)

    I’ll believe him when I’ve read the entire list of 100.

Leave a Reply

