Fun Monday 8- Food!

Beccy is this week’s Mistress of Monday.  Head over for the full list of participants.

Beccy has challenged us to give recipes.  Right up my alley.  This is my family’s favorite special breakfast.  I only make it on Christmas Day and New Year’s Day.  I might make it some other time but you’ll pretty much have to beg.

Breakfast Braid

4 oz cream cheese

1/2 cup milk

8 eggs

salt

pepper

1/4 cup chopped bell pepper (red makes for a nice color contrast)

2 tbls. chopped onion

2 packages (8 oz each) refrigerated crescent rolls

1/3 lb shaved deli ham

1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 375 F

Place cream cheese and milk in bowl.  Microwave on high 1 minute.  Whisk until smooth.

Into bowl with cream cheese mixture, add:  eggs, salt, pepper, bell pepper, onion.  Cook mixture in a really big frying pan.  Cook until the eggs are set but still moist. 

I use a rectangular pizza stone but you can use a regular sheet pan.

On pizza stone, unroll the crescent rolls.  Pinch the parts together that are perforated, so you have one big sheet.  On the long sides, cut strips into the dough.  Strips should be about 1 1/2 inches apart and three inches deep (leave a space in the center to put filling).

Down the center of the dough arrange:

ham

egg mixture

sprinkle cheese on top

Now for those strips.  Gently lift a strip and give it a twist.  Do the same on the opposite side and pinch the two together in the middle.  The idea is to make the top look braided.  Do you know what I mean?  I hope so, because I can’t explain it any better, cause I’m brain dead today.  Do all of the strips like this.

Bake in the oven for about 25 minutes.  Slice and serve.

The family thinks I’m Julia Child when I make this breakfast.

Don’t forget to check out the other culinary masterpieces at Beccy’s.  Maybe my family will try something new this week!

17 Comments

Filed under Fun Monday

17 responses to “Fun Monday 8- Food!

  1. that sounds good, especially for mornings after the night before.

  2. I love breakfast, my favorite meal of the day. Definitely be trying this out.

  3. I will have to give this a try the next time I have houseguests!

  4. Yum…..I might have to channel my inner Betty and try this. Which means I’ll be making a speed trip to McDonald’s when it comes out like crap!!

    🙂

  5. Sounds yummy, just one question, what are cresent rolls? Are they like croissants?

  6. That sounds YUMMY!

    It doesn’t look very Weight Watcher friendly though…so I’ll have to save it for a special occasion.

    Just so you know..I’m having a hysterical visual of your right now…one step from being a lumber jack and baking! LOL 😉

  7. I don’t even like eggs or ham (Sam I am NOT) but this sounds good! 🙂 Maybe I can slightly modify it…

  8. Although I can’t picture how to do this (read: need cookbooks with pictures :)) it sounds amazing and I will be giving it a try!

  9. Sounds incredibly yummy!! One thing I miss about moving to Ireland is that there are no crescent rolls (or any kind of canned biscuit from the freezer section). A keeper for when we move back to the States!

  10. hmmm. sounds good… with ice cream?

  11. YUM – a very easy dish to make and impress with. I like it.

  12. this sounds awesome, wonder if it could be done with a different sort of bread (pillsbury cres rolls have red#40 and we don’t use fake colours)….

  13. Oh my ! Is this scrumptious or what? I’m always looking for a new breakfast dish and I just found it. Love it. Thank you.

  14. Sounds a little like the chicken broccoli braid I make for new moms, friends who need dinner made for them, etc. I’ll have to try this ham version.
    Ingredients:

    2 cups cooked chicken, chopped

    1 cup broccoli, chopped

    1/2 cup red bell pepper, chopped

    1 garlic clove pressed

    4 ounces (1 cup) sharp cheddar cheese, shredded

    1/2 cup mayonnaise

    2 tsp. dill weed

    1/4 tsp. salt

    2 pkgs. (8 ounces each) refrigerated crescent rolls

    1 egg white, lightly beaten

    2 tbsp. slivered almonds

    Cooking Instructions:

    Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

    Mix chicken, broccoli, bell pepper, garlic, cheese, mayonaise, dill, salt together in a large mixing bowl and set aside.

    Unroll 1 package of crescent dough; do not separate.

    Arrange longest sides of dough across width of 12″x15″ rectangle baking stone.

    Repeat with remaining package of dough.

    Roll dough to seal perforations.

    On longest sides of backing stone, cut dough into strips 1 1/2 inches apart, 3 inches deep. (this will leave 6 inches in the center for the filing).

    Spread chicken, broccoli mixture evenly over middle of dough.

    To braid, lift strips of dough across mixture to meet in center, twisting each strip on turn.

    Continue alternating strips to form braid.

    Tuck ends under ot seal at end of braid.

    Brush egg white over top of dough.

    Sprinkle with almonds.

    Bake 25-28 minutes or until deep golden brown.

    This recipe will yeld: 10 servings
    Approximately 410 calories and 27 grams of fat per serving

    Source: Pampered Chef

Leave a Reply

