Fit Friday

My first weigh in:

Start weight:  268.5

Today’s weight:  262

Lost:  6.5 yippee!!

Yes! 6.5 pounds!  I know the first couple of weeks tend to be a higher than normal weight loss, but damn, that makes me happy!

This weeks topic:  The Plan

I have to have a plan.  For everything from dieting to running my errands.  I’m a list kind of gal.  I’m so crazy with the lists that if I do something that is not on the list, I will add it to the list just so I can cross it off. 

I chose the Weight Watchers Flex plan (points)  after some consideration. 

  • I had some success with it in the past.
  • I can eat anything.  Yeah I may blow some points on not so healthy stuff but I’m also not deprived.  When I feel deprived I’m just setting myself up for failure.
  • You don’t have to buy special food.  Some of those food plans out there cost more than my weekly groceries for a family of four.
  • On the other hand, they have WW brand food for easy point calculation.  I love bread.  Bread has about a kajillion points, per slice.  WW bread is one point for two slices.  I can have my bread (and eat it too.  Sorry couldn’t resist.)  WW also has sweet snacks with low point values.
  • The points are pretty easy to keep track of.  The at home kit came with an electronic points calculator that is super easy and compact.  It lives in my purse.

I could not do some of the plans out there.  Notice I don’t say diet.  I can’t think of this as a diet (more failure set up), I have to think of it as a plan.  A plan for a healthy life.  Anyway, I can’t do the plans that restrict carbs.  I need carbs.  I don’t say this from a “ooh carbs, my preshhhusss carbs”  standpoint, I say thisfrom a brain fog standpoint.  I literally can’t think without carb intake.

I can’t do plans that revolve around the glycemic index, eat certain foods in certain orders or at certain times.  I can’t do them because it requires too much thinking.  My brain can only process so much in any given day and there is no room for that stuff.

I can’t do liquid meal substitutes because, um, hello, I LOVE food!

So, for me, Weight Watchers is the way to go.

What is your plan?  What are you doing that may help me?  If you are doing WW, what is the best/worst thing about it in your opinion?

14 Comments

Filed under Mama, Weight Loss

14 responses to “Fit Friday

  1. WOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOO!

    That is an awesome first week. Congrats! May you continue in that trend!

  2. Holy crap! Congrats to you on over 6 lbs. Now I don’t even want to check my weight.

  3. Many congratulations, what a great start. I’ve lost 11lbs over the last six weeks, my plan is simple, CUT OUT THE CRAP. I make sure I eat lots but that it’s heathly, lots of salad and fruit and I’m drinking at least 1 lt water a day. I allow myself one treat but wait until I really need it and some days I don’t. I think whatever works for you has to be the best plan, (I also don’t use the word diet)!

    Keep up with the good plan.

  4. Excellent start….

    Jimmy did the same plan and selected it because of the flexibility it has. He found if he was able to eat, basically, whatever he wanted (in moderation), it made it easier for him to stay on the plan.

    Congrats on a wonderful start….can’t wait to see next week’s results 🙂

  5. SJ

    Congrats on the weight loss, keep up the good work! Sounds like Weight Watchers is working out great for you.

    I did The South Beach Diet and had great success, been thinking about doing Weight Watchers however for a change of pace…..

    Good luck!

  6. WW sounds like a very good plan. ‘Forbidding’ certain foods or entire types of foods doesn’t sound like a nice thing.

  7. Congrats!

    I loved WW Online – I didn’t really have any complaints other than I was traveling for work and didn’t always have the availability to go on-line and enter my points. I quit while I was traveling, then got pregnant.

    Overall, I love their concepts – yes, you can have
    dessert, but can make up for it in other ways. A little exercise, eating a salad for the main course, maybe forgoing a sugary drink for the dessert instead. They teach you to think in that way and it sorta never goes away. It’s common sense really!

    The other plans bother me because there always seems to be some “magic” formula. WW is simple – put too many calories in your mouth and you’ll gain weight. Imagine that!

    Anyway – good work! (now have some ice cream 🙂

  8. ROCK ON!! great first week.. my plan ( u are so correct about what we choose not being diets) is similiar to WW.. and I have done WW online and done the meetings.. I liked WW online.. and did well with it.. I really just wanted the privacy and the accountability factor for myself.. thats why I am using a nutritionist.. I see her once a month and I weigh in every Monday evening in her office… You can do this.. take it one step at a time and you will succeed… I felt as if you were writing my diet life when you mentioned the things that you did.. each of those other programs effected me the same way… MUCH LUCK and MUCH CONGRATS on the first weeks loss!!!!

  9. Fantastic first week wow, you go girl.
    I love your reasoning too and love the thought of it being “the plan”, see you are so smart to think of it that way. Your aren’t setting yourself up for failure and dang look at the results you got this week. Way to go and keep up the good work.
    As far as a plan for me, nope don’t have any, so all I can give you is support instead of help!!

  10. Great first week!!! Congrats!!

    I love WW. I truly believe there is a reason that they have been around longer than any other weight loss plan – it is a plan that is sustainable and it works. It’s also (relatively) easy to follow and it allows for snacks and (some) cheating. Personally I had great success on it after I quit smoking a packed on 25 lbs. And once again after my first pregnancy.

    After pregnancy #2 I cut out all wheat – NOT ALL CARBS – just wheat. That also proved successful.

    Another biggie on the WW plan was cutting out all my red wine (I loved red wine). That helped alot!

    Good luck!!!

  11. HOLY CRAP!!!! WHOOOOOHOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That is soooooo great! Congratulations!!!

    I could not do a weight loss plan without carbs either! I heart potatoes and I could live on them!!!!!!!!

    You are doing so great and you are going to keep doing sooooooo great!

  12. Weight Watchers is also my plan and I’m loving it, except for several moments of screeching, detailed in my weight loss blog.

    GO YOU! Your loss is awesome this week!

  13. Good Lord woman, 6.5 lbs in one week. That is AWESOME! I have NEVER done that. I need YOUR secrets.

    If you need carbs, eat the good ones, instead of the “bad.” I need to google that myself for a refresher on what is “good.”

    Are you exercising? I think that will be the key for me.

    And my sister has a GREAT website for losing weight. lots of great tips.

  14. I am so proud of you!! I don’t have a plan yet but I’ve been considering WW online for myself and hubby.(post vacation). Of course this means I may have to cut eating only pie out of my diet. I’m not sure if I can do it.

Leave a Reply

