Fun Monday- Summertime

Jenni over at Prairie Air is this week’s hostess of Fun Monday.  Her challenge is: 

Your mission, should you choose to accept it:
Share one or more of your favorite summertime memories with us. It can be a childhood memory or more recent. The memory can be a vague conglomeration of how you spent summers past (catching fireflies, playing outside till dark, watermelon seed wars) or it can be a detailed memory of a specific event. You may write a poem or short story or just tell it like it was. The main idea is to communicate the essence of summer and what symbolizes the season in words and/or pictures.

What do I remember about summertime as a kid?  The food!!

  • Corn on the cob
  • Watermelon
  • Hamburgers
  • Hot dogs burnt on the grill
  • Tomato sandwiches on Wonder bread with mayo
  • Ice cream cones (of course)

And all sorts of other food that I can’t bear to even think about because I am so nauseous I could die.

My Fun Monday contributions just keep getting better.

14 Comments

Filed under Fun Monday

14 responses to “Fun Monday- Summertime

  1. There is no other way to eat a hot dog in summer time, than burned. Mmmmmmmmmm

  2. What are you talking about!? This is a truly great Fun Monday post (if you have seen mine you’ll know why I say this)

  3. Watermelon – the BEST summer treat EVER!

  4. “Don’t you remember the fizz in a Pepper
    Peanuts in a bottle at ten two and four
    A fried bologna sandwich with mayo and tomato…”

    All I have to say is what about the fair food? Cotton candy, corn dogs, funnel cake, fried onions, fried mushrooms, fried corn on the cob, fried Twinkies, fried Snickers. I could go on and on. Those fair folks have figured out how to fry everything. Isn’t everything better fried?

  5. mjd

    Those are some tasty delights. I am sorry about your nausea. I hope that you feel better soon.

  6. we ate tomato sandwiches when I was a kid, too.
    sometimes we added pickle or cukes…. and my mom and dad added a big slice of onion.

    we thought that was high livin’

    and how can I forget the butter from my ear to ear… from that big EAR of corn. yum

  7. Short and sweet!

    A burnt hot dog is what bbqing is all about.

  8. I love a good grilled hot dog in the summer.

  9. Oooh, now I want a hot dog and it’s 10:19 am.

    I’m sorry you feel yucky.

  10. hope the loud queasies go away soon.. i hate that stuff. now lets talk about food… kidding.. well uhm lets talk really fast about food… yum for burgers and dogs.. and watermelon and ice pops and cold soda pop and picking blueberries and peaches .. yummy..

  11. But it is a “good” kind of nausea. I know none of it is good, but for a good reason.

  12. I love tomato sandwiches!!!!! my husband thinks I’m crazy!

  13. I was already hungry when I came over here and now I am STARVING!

  14. mmm I love to go out in the garden, find a nice fat juicy tomato and a plump cucumber. Make toast slab on the ol miracle whip, slice the tomato, cucumber add salt top with extra sharp cheese and wash it down with an ice cold ice tea!!!!

Leave a Reply

