Fun Monday- The Aprons

Chris is today’s Fun Monday hostess.  Her challenge is:

‘show your aprons’ it can be your favourite or an unusual one or more than one. Be creative as you like;

and secondly if, like me, you have lots of ‘tea towels’ that are brand new (or could be an old favourite) I would like to see those as well and hear the story behind the picture- was it a gift from a holiday, a present from auntie that you only use when she visits etc………..

My problem:  I do not own a single apron!  Not one.  I thought for sure I had one somewhere but no. 

Problem two:  I do not have cute tea towels.  I have the twelve for $2 pieces of crap you get on sale at Wal-Mart.

I will let you in on my kitcheny quirk.  If you come to my house for dinner, you will get a cloth napkin.  Even if it is just a grilled cheese sandwich, there will be cloth napkins.  You won’t get cloth because you are special (even though you are, a bit of Monday ass kissing for you).  We use cloth everyday.  I’m not sure why but I have a thing against paper napkins on my dinner table.  I am not totally psycho, I’ll use paper any place else and I do buy the cute paper napkins for birthdays and stuff like that.  This is just one of my weird things I guess.

I didn’t have a chance to take a picture of the napkins this weekend, if I have time tonight I’ll snap one and post it.

18 Comments

Filed under Fun Monday

18 responses to “Fun Monday- The Aprons

  1. I’m with you. Cloth napkins all the way.

  2. Cloth napkins are much nicer on the environment too. Hmmmmmm….maybe I need to start a vintage cloth napkin collection?

  3. mjd

    Aprons seem to be a thing of the past. My grandma wore one all day, but she was cooking a good part of the day making homemade noodles, lemom meringue pie, and so much more.

  4. I have cloth napkins too, when they find their way onto the table!

  5. kudos to you on cloth. I need to invest in them. MIL always ironed hers and I just don’t see myself doing that

  6. I love using proper napkins- I’m using some I made back in 1965 from black and white gingham and I put some blanket stitch embroidery around the edge. I got a dozen from a yard. I was a very poor student nurse in those days. I do have some smarter ones for guests!!

  7. I have nice cloth napkins–unfortunately, they only come out at Christmas. Not sure why. Not like snowmen or trees puked all over them. I typically use paper towels. Hmm…maybe I’ll have to change that 🙂

  8. I am impressed! Like Pamela, I feel like I need to iron them before I use cloth and, uh, that just isn’t happening around here. Do you iron yours?

  9. I *heart* the idea of using cloth napkins every day. And I was just thinking about doing that. It’s not as if that would significantly add to my laundry; I have to do it every day anyway. Great idea!!

  10. I’m not even fancy enough for paper napkins! We use paper towels.

    Also, I am so anal, I would not want my cloth napkins to get stained, and that’s not gonna happen!

  11. okay.. I admit it… I am tea towel deficit.. uhmmm whats a tea towel??? I have dish towels… and we use paper towel.. mostly and cloth napkins.. for holidays… hmmmmm I think I am going to go add cloth napkins to my registry for my wedding… thats a good idea..

  12. Don’t feel bad. I don’t own an apron either! We never wore them at home, so I don’t own one in my home now…..

    Thanks for sharing, anyway.

    Happy Fun Monday!

  13. I don’t use cloth napkins at all. Used to have them all fancy on my dining room table w/ matching placemats, but heaven forbid the one that used them!! Don’t dirty them, they are for looks not for use!!!
    Tea towels I just use to make kitchen angels, so don’t have any for every day use, or just to take up space in the linen closet.
    Aprons, never used them, never will. I think of “June Cleaver” in her frilly apron, haha that is so not me. I am the original MAXINE of the world here, simplify everything I can and make do.

  14. I don’t think using cloth napkins when you serve grilled cheese sandwiches is a kitcheny quirk.
    Sorry my bathroom disturbed you. What part? The ragged Easter bunny or the cowboy leg table? There will be explanations tomorrow. Maybe you will feel better if you come back.

  15. Glad I’m not the only apron-less wonder! And my tea towels are cloths from the hubby’s job in the OR – sterilized, of course.

  16. I would love to come to your house for dinner then, I love a good cloth napkin.
    I don’t use them because of all the extra ironing. I wouldn’t mind washing them, but I don’t iron. ANd when you don’t iron and have to pay someone to iron for you, you don’t use cloth napkins!

  17. My sis uses cloth only. From an environmental perspective, is it better? Seriously, is it worse because of additional laundry or better because of saving trees? lol, I’m really curious.

    It is a “special” touch, though…whether or not that’s your intention ;).

    (Still tryin’ to “Fun Monday”…so dang hard when you’ve been out of town :/.)

  18. I have cloth, I have paper, and I have these gorgous faux-suede looking napkins. I used them a few times, then some ass went and actually used one of them to wipe their filthy hands. Problem? I’m terrified to wash the damn things.

    Haven’t used them since.

    Also… I, too, don’t own any aprons. Not really my thang..

Leave a Reply

