And Where The Hell Have You Been?

I’ve been right here with my ass planted on my couch morphing into the blob who can do nothing.

Why?

I am slightly overwhelmed with my life.  But first a Scoop update.

About a week and a half ago the morning (all damn day) sickness just about stopped.  Was I thrilled?  Of course not.  I was paranoid- if I feel good something must be wrong. 

Hey, my pregnancy track record isn’t that great, a certain amount of paranoia is to be expected.

I went to the OB today and heard a perfect heartbeat.  I got results back from some tests- all is well there and the risk of Down’s Syndrome is extremely low (whew).

I am now fifteen weeks and feel like I can relax a bit.

So where have I been?

There has been so much crap happening here I don’t even know where to begin.  It all sounds so small when I think about it but put it all together and toss in some morning sickness and some exhaustion and some really neat hormones and it’s a freakin disaster.

Let’s break out the bullets so I can be semi-coherent:

  • The sixteen year old has been behaving like a horse’s ass.  I can’t go into details, suffice it to say she is lucky she doesn’t have the Big Guy’s size thirteens up her ass.
  • My job is getting to be too much.  Since they fired that guy and another girl went out on maternity, I have so much work to do that I barely have time to pee.  I can’t wait for the long weekend.
  • My husband’s job schedule may be changing.  He has a union job and every six months they bid for shifts.  He has had the same shift for a number of years now.  It’s not a great shift but we have a routine.  Well this time around the company decided to eliminate a mid morning start time.  This changed everything.  It looks like my husband will have an early morning start.  This is good and bad.  Ebaby loves it because Daddy will be home at night and “we can be a family”.  Bad because he will be no help to me whatsoever when the baby comes.  It was like that with Ebaby and I was looking forward to having some help this time around, especially since I am working.  
  • Thursday is my birthday.  I will be thirty-eight.  Thirty-eight!  When the hell did that happen?
  • Ebaby starts a new school on Tuesday.  She went to preschool last year for two hours a day twice a week.  This year she is going every day, three full days and two half days.  She is so excited.  What’s the problem?  It is the first time someone other than family will be taking care of her for any length of time.  Since I went back to work two years ago my sister-in-law has watched her.  Now I will be entrusting her to relative strangers.  I’ve done my home work and am putting her in a good place where she will have fun and learn.  But…strangers taking care of my precious.
  • Because of circumstances I will not be able to take off two years with this baby.  That sucks a bit.
  • My mother is driving me batshitcrazy.  Today’s conversation included these gems:  you should have stopped at one,  the age difference is too big, this one will be a terror, your too old, the Big Guy will never get to retire and you should have listened to me.  These are just from one conversation today.  I haven’t talked to her much lately just to avoid the nonsense.  I hate that I avoid my mother because she isn’t supportive.  Why can’t she just shut the hell up?  Plus she keeps insisting on this one girl’s name that I cannot stand.  I have tried to be polite (no I don’t think so) but she kept going and going and going until finally I said, “It’s not happening.  I HATE that name.”  (I am not saying the name because you might like it or it might be your kid’s name and I need all the friends I can get.)
  • I am tired.  Very tired.  This is the latest I have been up in weeks.  It’s only 9:00.
  • My pants don’t fit and I really do not want to buy maternity pants yet.

I think there is more but I just can’t remember it all right now.  I am going to try to get back in the blog swing- maybe it will help me to not be so overwhelmed.  You know, I’ll lay it all on you guys!

19 Comments

Filed under Mama, Random, Scoop

19 responses to “And Where The Hell Have You Been?

  1. Hi!

    I’ve missed you.

    I’m sorry about your mom. Want I should cut her?

  2. I’ll hold your mom down for Chick… you don’t need that right now.

    you don’t need any of this right now.

    I’m sorry that all this is going on while you have been feeling like crap. I wish I were there to help you and bring you ice cream.

  3. she’s just worried about you… I know from experience.

    sometimes us grandma’s just don’t know when to shut up.

    She’ll love that baby so much…..

  4. I’m glad you are “pregnancy okay” but dang – sorry to hear everyone is acting up. Sheesh. They should give you a break.

    PS – I am sending you an e-mail

  5. Sorry about your Mom. Want me to help Chick and Frannie?

    Sorry about the 16 year old horse’s ass. Want me to smack her around and get her to realize how lucky she is and that she needs to be a HELP to you, not a pain in the ass?

    SO glad Scoop is freezing well!!

    We love you. We miss you. Lay it all on us. That’s what we’re here for!! E-mail me if you need anything 🙂

  6. Yay! I’m glad things with Scoop are okay! Sorry to hear about the 16 year old and you mother giving you problems. I hear duct tape works pretty well.

  7. I’m with Nikki. Just pull out a roll of duct tape next time your mom (coworker!) opens her mouth. Just a thought…

    Email me the awful name. I’ll reassure you it is awful.

    Great news on Scoop!

    Do you mean Thursday the 30th or THursday the 6th?

  8. Feel free to lay it on us – we’re here to listen and support you.

    Happy early birthday to you!

    I think there will be a lot of mom’s stressing on Tuesday – it’s the first day of school around here and both my girls are starting new programs/schools. I’m a bit of a bundle of nerves as well.

    Oh, and SO glad all is going well with Scoop!

  9. I’ve been worried about you…

    Glad that all is OK on the pregnancy front…bummer about your mom and the big kid.

  10. Dang you have good reasons for not blogging, especially with a 16 yr old being a horses ass, trust me I KNOW how draining that can be.
    Your mom, mmmm well gotta say she needs to “think” and not speak, cause especially now your hormones are kicked into high gear and EVERYTHING gets to you!!!
    So glad you and the little scoop are doing good, keep blogging, I read them all the time!!! Dump it all out , you will feel better!!

  11. So glad Scoop is doing well and the sickness is over. That said, it sucks that your mom can’t (won’t?) be more supportive and at least try to be positive. I think you are doing the right thing by keeping your distance so she doesn’t drag you down. I’ve had to do that with my mom in the past
    –I even told her what I wasn’t going to listen to–and our relationship is much better now.

    I don’t have any words of wisdom about the 16-year-old. I hear they can be that way for a few years 🙂 Blog about all of it if you want to!

  12. Lay it on us, girl! That’s what we’re here for!! I am sorry your mom is not supportive of you, but I think keeping conversations to a minimum and things like that is a good idea. I hope she comes around.

    As for the 16 year old. I got nothin. But whatever you do, please write it down and then give it to me so I will be ready when mine turn 16.

  13. I’m glad the pregnancy is going well, and I hope that things become less overwhelming soon!

    Hope you have a great birthday tommorrow!

  14. Glad to hear all is well with the Scoop. I hated when people gave me their opinions about baby names. Made me really want to punch them in all my pregnant largeness. I bet I coulda really wholloped them. . . anyway (tangent) Hope you are having an AWESOME day!!!

  15. Individually those things wouldn’t be so bad, but put them all together and you’ve got the ingredients for a meltdown.

  16. Coming out of lurkdom to say I hope things get better. I think you’re right. Individually it’s not so bad, but so many things at once. Doesn’t seem fair. I can come run them over with my car if you want. I wouldn’t kill them. Just run over their toes or something to keep their minds on something else…besides YOU! Hang in there.

  17. You’re at 15 weeks and haven’t yet succumbed to maternity pants??!! Impressive!!

    Have you tried Lululemon? Not maternity, but to-die-for yoga wear – wore them throughout my ENTIRE pregnancy (albeit in a bigger size, duh) but they are amazing. And will make your ass look better than it’s ever looked before. (I’m not saying your ass doesn’t look great now… cuz I’m sure it does… !)

    As for your mother – GAH!!!!!

  18. Oh – and HAPPY BIRTHDAY TOMORROW!!!

  19. So sorry that your tired and Big Man’s shift is changing.
    Ignore your mom, don’t feel bad about it. The best thing we can do for ourselves is avoid the people who make us feel bad.
    Hope your birthday was happy, sorry that I am late in my salutation.

Leave a Reply

