Fun Monday- Save the Art

 Sayre is this week’s Fun Monday host.  Her challenge: 

Brush off your interview skills. Talk to everyone who lives in your house. I want to know what their, and your, favorite piece of art is in your home. Photographs do not count. If there was a fire in your home, everyone would grab photographs, but what is the non-photographic piece of art you would grab on your way out – and why? (Edit: These don’t have to be paintings – these can be wall hangings, statues, lumps of clay by your child, anything that is artistic expression of some kind EXCEPT photographs.)

I did not talk to everyone who lives in my house.  Why not?  I am a Secret Blogger.  Why?  Not that I’m hiding anything from the Big Guy- he can read it.  I just like having something that is mine.  Anyway…

We don’t have much art.  Ebaby hasn’t been in school long enough to really generate much “art”.  When Sis was in the younger grades she gave most of the arty stuff to her mother so we really don’t have much from her either.

I’m not allowed to choose photos which is what most of our art consists of.  (yeah, ending with a preposition- deal with it)

I guess I would have to choose…Christmas tree ornaments.  Although how the hell I would get them down quickly in an emergency is beyond me.

Go check out some people who actually have art.

17 Comments

Filed under Fun Monday

17 responses to “Fun Monday- Save the Art

  1. I don’t have art, either. I suck like that 🙂

  2. Christmas ornaments are wonderful treasures. We always buy a new one when we go cut down our tree so they would be art to me too.

  3. You always have the best non-Fun Monday posts ever!

  4. OH OH OH I did not even think about my Christmas ornaments! Some of them are works of art. 🙂

  5. I always forget about Christmas ornaments – except when they are on the tree.

    and you know what? Some photos are works of art.

  6. I can’t wait to see your Christmas ornaments…nows there’s an idea for a Christmas Fun Monday post.

  7. OH NO!! I forgot about all my handmade Christmas ornaments that took HOURS and HOURS to make….sheesh….what a great idea! I’m going to need a LOT of notice before our house catches on fire!

  8. No art in my house either!

  9. I’m sick so that’s my excuse for not polling my family. The truth is, if my house was on fire, the “art” on my walls isn’t what I’d be scrambling to grab–after PEOPLE, I’d be more inclined to get a few special things that have been in our family for a while…

    Christmas ornaments my mom made prior to her death are some of those “special things”…but, yeah, they’re in the attic, so I doubt they’d make it out…:/.

  10. I have a large Christmas ornament collection, too. I would’ve added it in for my “art,” but getting it out of the attic would’ve taken far too long!

  11. I didn’t poll my family either. Hubby would have just looked at me like I was insane and Punkin’ probably would have said “Little Mermaid”!

    But I always have to speak for them anyway, so why stop now?

  12. great choice!

    my ornaments mean so much to me. so very much!

  13. I never even thought of ornaments. Heck yeah, I’d have to figure out how to save them too! So many memories are wrapped up in them. Clever girl for reminding us all of them.

  14. I have a few ornaments I would like to have forever… a good reminder…. our are in the attic. Goodbye in case of fire.

  15. Art to me is all my pics, not the pics I use to decorate. Those can be replace if burned in a fire but not pic of my family, so yep that’s my art no matter what !!! 🙂
    Of course my family would be first in case of a fire, no doubt about that.

  16. Christmas ornaments are something I haven’t seen listed in the other lists. What an awesome thought. So many people have ornaments that they cherish and they would definitely fall in the category of art. I don’t have any, but I think it is a good to save if you do.

  17. I love Christmas ornaments, I was actually looking at some today…

Leave a Reply

