Wallowing

****It’s a miracle.  This is the craptacular post I wrote yesterday.  It appeared today.  So for your reading pleasure or if you just need something to put you to sleep…. 

 

If you guessed that is what I have been doing well, damn, you’re good!

 

I just can’t seem to get out of this funk.  Between the post partum and the job loss I feel like crap.  I went on Zoloft a couple of weeks after Scoop was born.  The low dose the doc started me on didn’t do it so we upped the dose.  That seemed to help a bit but it gave me diarrhea (sorry) about nine times a day.  Just can’t deal with that out of the blue dash for the bathroom.  I can barely hold my pee in for 6.3 seconds, never mind having to run!  So I weaned myself off the Zoloft.  A friend gave me the name of her shrink.  Have I called?  No, of course not.  It’s so much more fun to sit around feeling overwhelmed and sorry for myself. 

 

Starting today I am making a concerted effort to get off my ass and do something.  Anything. 

 

Today I registered Ebaby for Kindergarten.  Freakin’ Kindergarten!!  My baaabeee!  Then I went to Dunkin Donuts for free iced coffee with my girlfriends (Yum!!) and their soon-to-be Kindergartners.  Apparently there was something in the water because we all got knocked up around the same time.

 

So there you go, I left the house and communicated with the outside world.

 

One small step blah blah blah…

 

 

PS.  Regarding the job situation- if you really want to know what is going on email me I just can’t talk about it here right now.

11 Comments

Filed under Mama

11 responses to “Wallowing

  1. One small step at a time. And really? The kindergarten thing? That’s a HUGE step.

  2. Hey you got out AND got a free iced coffee, that’s a great first step.
    You will kick back into gear soon. I mean give yourself some time. a new baby, job loss and kindergarten wow that’s a lot to handle. Being over whelmed happens to all of us, but you also had those baby hormones to deal with too.
    Hope all is good for you today!!

  3. So sorry you’re feeling so blue. I hope things get better soon. In the meantime, getting out with the ladies is fantastic! Now. Do it again 🙂

  4. Getting out of the house is a very good thing! And having adult contact – even better….(even for those of us w/o the baby blues!)

    Kindergarten! another 5 years you get to do it again.

  5. I’m sorry you are in a funk. I know how you feel.

    (((((hugs)))))))

  6. Thanks for offering to send a postcard! You are able to think of others even through this difficult time? I had terrible post partum with my son. To the point where I chased my husband down the road and jumped on the hood of his moving truck because I didn’t want him to leave me home alone with the baby. You are not alone! I got drugs and therapy and have been fine for years. I only stayed on Zoloft for 2 years and then I was fine! Good luck with everything!
    (((Hugs)))

  7. Don’t discount the small step. I’m on a little something something for post partum, too, because what I went through with my first should NOT have happened. This time, I visited a psychiatrist while pregnant to plan for postpartum. That made all the difference, since it’s his JOB to know about the meds and their small but very important differences… not that you’re looking for advice, but if you can, visit a psychiatrist who will find the best medication for your body’s chemistry and issues. BIG hugs and loads of luck. If there’s anything I can do, let me know via email!!!

  8. I’m so sorry that things are down for you right now. Getting out with friends is good, and I’m glad you had some fun! I registered my baby for kindergarten too, so I’m with you on that “pain.”

    Hang in there!

  9. Hey, a step is a step no matter how small.

    I sound all wise and shit don’t I?

  10. I’ve been in “that funk” and I NEVER, EVER, EVER want to be there again! I hope things start looking up for you – it’s not a fun place to be.

    The free iced coffee had to have helped some, huh?

  11. Been there, done that. Too bad I didn’t get a t-shirt.

    I’m going to Tigger’s pre-k graduation the first week of June. Gathering tissues now.

Leave a Reply

